Pete Levin Möbius





Keyboardist-arranger-composer Pete Levin's 9th solo release, *Möbius, w*as recorded live in the studio in two days, capturing the "no boundaries" spirit of Gil Evans. The music explores textural grooves ranging from straight-ahead bop to funk, world-beat, and the experimental.

The disc features 10 tracks including 8 originals, "I Mean You" by Thelonious Monk & Coleman Hawkins and "There Comes A Time" by Tony Williams. Anchored by Tony Levin (Peter Gabriel's original bassist) and Lenny White (Chick Corea's original drummer) the high-energy band and the compositions have the spontaneity and dynamics of a live performance.

In a diverse music career spanning several decades, Levin has performed and recorded with numerous jazz and pop artists, including Paul Simon, Annie Lennox, David Sanborn, Jaco Pastorius, Robbie Robertson and John Scofield. He received critical accolades for his work during a 15-year association with Gil Evans, and his 8-year stint with jazz icon Jimmy Giuffre.

Levin states, "What I got from Gil Evans was the unshakable notion that playing music was to create from a place where there are no boundaries. If it can be imagined then it can be done."

As part of New York's jazz, pop, and electronic music scene since the '70s, Levin became a sought-after sideman for session work, live performances and hundreds of film scores, jazz and pop recordings. Pete has contributed to a wide range of recordings by such artists as Carla Bley, The Brubeck Brothers, Donald Byrd, Jimmy Cobb, Judy Collins, Miles Davis, Bryan Ferry, Freddie Hubbard, Tony Levin, Chuck Mangione, Charles Mingus, Wayne Shorter, Lew Soloff, Jimmy Vivino and others.

Levin currently tours with the 7-piece Mobius Band, The Levin Brothers Quartet, and his own organ trio.



Musicians

Pete Levin electric piano, clavinet, organ Alex Foster tenor & soprano sax **Chris Pasin** trumpet Jeff Ciampa guitar Tony Levin upright & electric bass **Lenny White drums** Nanny Assis percussion Rob Paparozzi harmonica, jaw harp Erik Lawrence baritone sax Kal David guitar

Jerry Marotta drums

Songs

- 1. Promises 4:54
- 2. Another Time, Another Place 5:56
- 3. I Mean You 5:37
- 4. Fade to Blue 5:21
- 5. I'm Falling 5:47
- 6. Möbius 10:11
- 7. If 6:49
- 8. Kakilambe 7:37
- 9. There Comes a Time 9:25
- 10. Way Down Yonder 8:28

Produced by Pete Levin

Publist: Scott Thompson Phone: (203)-400-1818

Radio Contact: Neal Sapper Phone: (510) 260-0004 **Label Contact: Chris Beaudry**

Phone: (860)-933-0095





